Resilient Community

My last post illustrated the idea of belonging in community and valuing our interactions and conversations with our neighbors. This morning’s email delivered a link to Fall 2010 issue of Yes! magazine focusing on resiliency and why we should care. The page “How Resilient are You?” caught my attention with a “test” that begins with neighbors.

1) I have friends and acquaintances in my local community. (I know their faces (and hopefully their names) not just their facebook pages)

2) I am comfortable asking my neighbors if I can borrow stuff (eg. tools, ingredients). (and visa versa)

3) I could easily call on my nearby friends and neighbors for help in an emergency.

*Our neighbor Mark called on his way to work this morning to warn us of bad weather heading our way. Thanks Mark.

1 Comment

Filed under Community

One response to “Resilient Community

  1. This is really cool. 🙂 Thanks for bringing it to my attention Candee. I love the idea of helping each other out in community and growing stronger together.

Leave a Reply

